Video Portrait Gallery (registratie)
Marina Abramovic, 1975 - 2002, 1'11''

Unable to play video - your browser does not support any of the available video types.

'Video Portrait Gallery' is an installation of single-channel works that function as portraits of the artist, as they mostly show Abramovic's face. According to Abramovic, the installation is a way of reflecting on and regrouping her old work. First realized in 1997 for the Kunstmuseum Bern as a collection of 12 videos, 'Video Portrait Gallery' was turned into a 16-channel installation in 2003. However, the 'Gallery' is a work in progress, as every new video that includes Abramovic's head will be added to it in the future. The installation contains 'Art must be Beautiful, Artist must be Beautiful' (1975), 'Freeing the Voice' (1975), 'Freeing the Memory' (1975), 'Dragon Head No.1' (1990), 'Dragon Head No.2' (1990), 'Dragon Head No.4' (1990), 'Cleaning the Mirro I (Head)' (1995), 'Cleaning the Mirror II' (1995), 'In Between' (1996), 'The Onion' (1996), 'Image of Happiness' (1996), 'Lost Souls' (1997), 'Dozing Consciousness' (1997), 'Red Period' (1998), 'Blue Period' (1998) and 'Stromboli' (2002). Read more...

  • Date: 1975 - 2002
  • Length: 1'11''
  • Type: Documentation master file
  • Genre: portrait, body art, registration (documentation genre)
  • Keywords: installation - multi-channel video installation, artist, body
  • Copyrights: All rights reserved (c) LIMA